11th Indonesia National Championship Final, Jakarta 1970 
 1   ArdiansyahArdiansyah
Photo of ArdiansyahFIDE ID: 7100027.
POB: Banjarmasin Flag of Indonesia.
DOB: 1951.12.05.
Peak Elo: 2480 (1987).
 7100027 Flag of Indonesia m  Kalimantan Selatan   8.5 
 2   Rusli, EddyRusli, Eddy
Photo of Eddy Rusli
 Flag of Indonesia  Jakarta   8.5 
 3   Bessaria, KuntoroBessaria, Kuntoro
Photo of Kuntoro Bessaria
 Flag of Indonesia  Jawa Barat   8.0 
 4   Hamdan AHHamdan AH
Photo of Hamdan AH
 Flag of Indonesia  Kalimantan Selatan   7.5 
 5   Bachtiar, ArovahBachtiar, Arovah
Photo of Arovah BachtiarFIDE ID: 7100205.
POB: Banjarmasin Flag of Indonesia.
DOB: 1934.03.25.
Peak Elo: 2400 (1971).
 7100205 Flag of Indonesia  Kalimantan Selatan   7.5 
 6   Salman, MSalman, M
Photo of M Salman
 Flag of Indonesia  Kalimantan Selatan    
 7   Sitompul, LeoSitompul, Leo
Photo of Leo Sitompul
 Flag of Indonesia  Jakarta    
 8   Nanjong, ViktorNanjong, Viktor
Photo of Viktor Nanjong
 Flag of Indonesia  Sulawesi Selatan    
 9   Lumentut, Fabian JLumentut, Fabian J
Photo of Fabian J LumentutFIDE ID: 7117787.
 7117787 Flag of Indonesia  Jakarta    
 10   Djamal, DjamilDjamal, Djamil
Photo of Djamil DjamalFIDE ID: 7102593.
 7102593 Flag of Indonesia  Jakarta    
 11   Suradiradja, HermanSuradiradja, Herman
Photo of Herman SuradiradjaFIDE ID: 7100167.
POB: Sukabumi Flag of Indonesia.
DOB: 1947.10.14.
Peak Elo: 2380 (1981).
 7100167 Flag of Indonesia  Jawa Barat    
 12   Susilo, Siswoko ArieSusilo, Siswoko Arie
Photo of Siswoko Arie Susilo
 Flag of Indonesia  Jawa Tengah    
 13   Jusuf, ZubirJusuf, Zubir
Photo of Zubir Jusuf
 Flag of Indonesia  Sumatera Selatan    
 VP: Victory points.

 11th Indonesia National Championship Final Play-Off, Jakarta 1970 
 1   ArdiansyahArdiansyah
Photo of ArdiansyahFIDE ID: 7100027.
POB: Banjarmasin Flag of Indonesia.
DOB: 1951.12.05.
Peak Elo: 2480 (1987).
 7100027 Flag of Indonesia m  Kalimantan Selatan   1.0 
 2   Rusli, EddyRusli, Eddy
Photo of Eddy Rusli
 Flag of Indonesia  Jakarta   1.0 
 VP: Victory points.

No games available.

Final. 1970.??.??-?. Round Robin 13 rounds. 13 players.
Final Play-off. 1970.??.??-?. Match 2 rounds. 2 players.

The question on everybody lips ahead of the championship started was, could Ardiansyah defend the title? At the time the reigning champion Ardiansyah was still a teenager, 18-year old. Unlike the previous National Championship he entered the event not as a non-master anymore but as one of the three only Indonesian IMs following his success in the FIDE Zonal 10 Tournament 1969.

Ardiansyah proved that his last year win was no fluke. He won the National Championship second time in a row although this time he had a fierce challenge from the in-form-again Eddy Rusli (aka Ong Yok Hwa), the 1964 National Champion. Both players ended up with the same VP. The play-off between two players also ended in a tie 1-1. Ardiansyah was declared as the National Champion based on the better SB.

Jakarta and South Borneo showed their prowess through out the championship. Each had 4 players in the final phase. None of them finished outside the big 10. On the contrary the event turned out badly for North Sumatera which didn’t have any representative at all in the final. It was pity because the province was still considered as a chess power house in Indonesia.


  • Putaran Ketiga Sirkuit Grandmaster Asia Pertama 1978
  • Sejarah Catur Indonesia 1986 (Ds FKN Harahap)

This post is also available in: Spanish, Indonesian

Related posts:

No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2006-2022 IndonesiaBase