15th Indonesia National Championship, Malang 1974 

No games available.

1974.??.??-?. Swiss 13 rounds. Unknown number of players. NM titles: Abir Dipo, Iman S Bharata, Herman Lauw.

Malang, a city with nice weather in the eastern hemisphere of Java, had an honor to hold Indonesia National Chess Championship for the second time. The first in 1958 has gone down into the Indonesian chess history as the most chaotic National Championship ever.

The championship marked the return of IM Ardiansyah to the throne. For Ardiansyah, Malang was like his own backyard. He finished his high school at the city. Ardiansyah had a good year in 1974. A few months before the championship he had made a good display in the IBM Tournament Group B at Amsterdam, Netherlands, and the Chess Olympiad at Nizza, France.

The competition was very tight. Only half a point separated between the 1st and the 6th rank. Players of DKI Jakarta, spearheaded by the champion, dominated the arena. Five DKI Jakarta players swarmed the big ten. The other players represented North Sumatera (3) and South Borneo (2). After introducing Monang Sinulingga in the 1972 National Championship, North Sumatera brought another new exciting player into a national scene. He was 25-year-old Samosir-born Salor Sitanggang. In the future Salor won National Championships no less than three times.

Percasi (All Indonesia Chess Federation) awarded a National Master title to the top six. The lucky players were Abir Dipo, Iman Bharata, and Herman Lauw.


  • Buku Panduan Percasi 1996 (Djamil Djamal)
  • Putaran Ketiga Sirkuit Grandmaster Asia Pertama 1978
  • Sejarah Catur Indonesia 1986 (Ds FKN Harahap)

This post is also available in: Spanish, Indonesian

Related posts:

No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2006-2022 IndonesiaBase