16th Indonesia National Championship, Medan 1975 

PGN 2020.03.01. 1 game. Incomplete. Please help us to complete the games.

1975.11.??-?. Swiss 13 rounds. Unknown number of players. NM title 9. NM titles: Bing Sardjono, Benny Kileng, Abdul Azis Riduan, Eddy Suwandhio, Iskandar Arif, Irwansyah Sinuraya, Thomas Ginting.

The Indonesian-first-GM-to-be Herman Suradiradja won the 1975 National Chess Championship held in Medan, North Sumatera, and deservedly so. He left a big chasing group one full VP behind. The pre-tournament favorite and defending champion IM Ardiansyah, Arovah Bachtiar, and seven other players belonged to that group.

The host North Sumatera didn’t fare too well in the championship. Their best players Irwansyah Sinuraya and Thomas Ginting could only achieve ranks of 9 and 10 respectively. Both players took solace by attaining an NM title.

Percasi (All Indonesia Chess Federation) no longer awarded the NM title based on the ranks but the VP percentages instead. The NM title required 70% or 9 VP in this 13-round championship.

Suradiradja then made a good use of his National Champion status to seize opportunities pursuing higher titles abroad. In 1975 he also won the 1st Asian Masters in Singapore. He registered his first IM norm in the tournament.


  • Buku Panduan Percasi 2009 (Djamil Djamal)
  • Chessbase
  • Kejuaraan Catur Nasional Jakarta 1983-84
  • Putaran Ketiga Sirkuit Grandmaster Asia Pertama 1978
  • Sejarah Catur Indonesia 1986 (Ds FKN Harahap)

This post is also available in: Spanish, Indonesian

Related posts:

No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2006-2021 IndonesiaBase