4th Indonesia National Championship Final, Magelang 1956 

PGN 2014.02.07. 2 games. Incomplete.

1956.12.??-??. Final. 15 players. Round Robin 15 rounds.

The 4th National Championship would be remembered as a tournament of surprises.

The pre-tournament favorite and defending champion Baris Hutagalung had to kiss his title goodbye. He was shocked by his defeats to Arovah Bachtiar and unheralded Suparno. Suparno from Tegal was the giant killer of this event. He beat number 2 (Arovah), 3 (Baris), and 4 (Achmad Abdul Satar).

Everything looked good for another favorite Max Arie Wotulo in the first eight rounds. He beat all of his eight opponents. Unfortunately he could only get half a point for the rest of rounds. Max was known for his lack of fitness that could not match his excellent on-board strength.

Abubakar Baswedan and Arovah topped the table with the same VP after 15 rounds. Abubakar edged out Arovah with better SB (Sonneborn Berger) to take home the championship trophy. Surabaya’s player Abubakar had never been at the final stage of the previous three National Championships.

Selected Games (viewer © ChessTempo)

Photo of Max Arie WotuloWhite
Max Arie Wotulo
Flag of Indonesia
Photo of Arovah BachtiarBlack
Arovah Bachtiar
Flag of Indonesia

4th Indonesia National Championship Final
Magelang Flag of Indonesia 1956.12.11
1-0 A42 Modern Defence: Averbakh Variation


  • Daya Suka 42 1957
  • Putaran Ketiga Sirkuit Grandmaster Asia Pertama 1978
  • Sejarah Catur Indonesia 1986 (Ds FKN Harahap)

This post is also available in: Spanish, Indonesian

Related posts:

No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2006-2020 IndonesiaBase