Posts Tagged ‘National’

12th Indonesia National Championship, Padang 1971

The old guard was back. It was too early to write off a veteran Arovah Bachtiar although he had been humbled in the last two National Chess Championships by his younger counterpart, IM Ardiansyah. Arovah won the National Championship crown for the fourth time. His first was almost two decades ago in 1953.

Read More

Wahono Cup, Jakarta 1982

The famous Tanah Karo chess player, Monang Sinulingga, quite predictably won the tournament. He played professionally. He didn’t push against the in-form players but was an absolute menace to players in the bottom ten. Monang completed his victory with the Best Game Award for his beautiful win to Fabian Lumentut in round 3.

Read More

11th Indonesia National Championship, Jakarta 1970

The question on everybody lips ahead of the National Chess Championship began was, could Ardiansyah defend the title? At the time the reigning champion Ardiansyah was still a teenager, 18-year old. He entered the event as one of the three only Indonesian International Masters following his success in the FIDE Zonal 10 Tournament 1969.

Read More

1st Indonesia National Women Championship, Yogyakarta 1978

Albeit only three provinces participated, the inaugural of National Women Chess Championship didn’t lack of quality players. Hanik Maria and Mun’yati represented Central Java while Nanik Wijaya led the team of DI Yogyakarta. DKI Jakarta sent their best players in the likes of Betty Pontoh, Imasniti, Tati Nurachmanti, and Darmayanti Tamin.

Read More

10th Indonesia National Championship, Banjarmasin 1969

The event would be long remembered. It not only reached a milestone (10th) and was held in ‘a chess city’ Banjarmasin, South Borneo, but also became a witness to the emerging of the best Indonesian player for years to come. He was Ardiansyah, a 17-year-old high school graduate from Malang, East Java.

Read More

7th National Games, Surabaya 1969

The more the merrier. Pekan Olahraga Nasional (National Games) or PON held the chess event for the very first time. It was certainly warm welcomed by chess enthusiasts all over Indonesia. No less than 152 players of 25 provinces took part. Up to the year of 1969 it went down in history as the biggest in term of the number of participants.

Read More

9th Indonesia National Championship, Jakarta 1967

The 1967 National Chess Championship adopted a new format. First the participants, 30 of them, were divided into 4 qualification pools. From there 12 players plus the defending champion Ong Yok Hwa advanced to the final phase. Arovah Bachtiar and Ong dominated the final with 9 VP each. In the play-off Arovah beat Ong convincingly 2-0.

Read More
Page 4 of 8« First...23456...Last »
Copyright © 2006-2021 IndonesiaBase